top of page

Day 6 of 90 Getting my jog on

It's Monday and for the first time in too long I feel well rested! Maybe I need to be shooting for 9 hours of sleep? I average maybe 8 most nights. It's difficult for me to sleep with insomnia, even with medication, and I'm horrible about going to bed at a reasonable time. Maybe I'll make a goal of this? I'll think on it.


Until then, here's day 6.




Started the day with greek yogurt and berries. I picked some up at costco the night before and these raspberries are absolutely to die for! I love my berries light pink with a tart bite. Pairs great with the sweetness of the yogurt.









Just in case anyone was wondering what kind of Greek yogurt I use, I found this low sugar one at Winco. I'd never seen it before and thought "might as well give it a try." I'm so glad I did because it was wonderful! You can tell that it's low sugar, but paired with fresh fruit its perfect. It's also low in carbs which is a plus for my low carb goal.








I was feeling usually hungry not long after breakfast so I listened to my body and whipped myself up something.


Snack #1 was some chili roasted pistachios and a hand full of blueberries.


GUYS! These nuts are unbelievably good. I can't believe it took me this long to find them. My dad is also a pistachio lover so I'm gonna have to tell him all about them too.








For lunch I had one of my childhood favorites. Grilled cheese! No one is ever too old for a grill cheese sandwich and I make mine with a few upgrades. Inside is a scoop of pico and a few slices of black forest ham. I also sprinkle a little seasoning on the mayo side of the bread before frying it. Ugh so good.


I can't describe to you how amazing it was when Franz finally came out with their own keto bread and they sell it at Winco! Honestly it taste like regular white bread, just without all the carbs.








Snack #2 was more of the pistachios and blueberries with a slice of brie cheese thrown on. Like the chili lime almonds, the pistachios are great with the brie.










Dinner was some herb marinated chicken thighs. I got these from Trader Joe's and I love them! Pre-seasoned and marinated and de-boned! I generally like to eat chicken thighs because it's a dark meat, has more fat content (low carb/keto life!), and its more moist. If you overcook chicken breast it quickly gets dry and feels like sawdust in your mouth. Yuck. I baked some asparagus to go along with it.


I know it's not super pretty but it was so good! I made a baked potato for the BF cuz he likes his carbs and he put BBQ sauce one it!!! Who does that?!?! He's kinda a weirdo, but I love him anyways.


After dinner and some relaxing I hooked the dog up with her harness and we went on a jog. I did waaaaay better than I thought I would.


When I originally came up with my goals for this journey, one of them was to improve my cardio and jogging time. I may have read my FitBit app wrong.....I thought it said I was running 16+ minute miles the last time I went jogging which was in June....I think. So I made my goal to run a 15 minute mile.


Well then I went running and I was averaging a 10 minute 45 second mile for almost 4 miles! HOLY MOLY BATMAN!


I didn't even feel like I was pushing myself as hard as I could. I was focusing on maintaining a good pace and keeping my breathing even. I was also listening to another episode of the Serial Killer podcast which kept my mind off the burning in my thighs LOL.


So this got my thinking, what should my goal actually be? Well I did a general google search and this is what I found...


Runner's World says, "Based on more real-life data from more than 300 million runs uploaded to workout app Strava in 2018, the average running pace across the globe is 9 minutes and 48 seconds (9:48). That number adjusts based on gender—9:15 for men; 10:40 for women—and in the U.S. with 9:44 overall (9:07 for men and 10:21 for women)."


Healthline (https://www.healthline.com/health/average-mile-time#by-age) says that for a woman of my age, 23, I should be averaging 11 minutes and 44 seconds a mile while running a 5K (3.1 miles). So according to these guys I'm already ahead of the game!


And here I thought my cardio was horrible! So my new goal.


After talking to one of my best friends whose a certified athletic trainer, she recommended I shoot for 9 minutes and 30 seconds by the end of my 90 Day Journey.


So since I was on a physical high from CRUSHING my run, I decided to do a thorough stretching routine for my hips to get into to split. OH BOY did I feel the burn! It was almost like doing a leg workout after running 4 miles, but I did feel more steady in my right split after the stretch ses.


I have a feeling that my legs will be jello tomorrow.


Until then!


-K

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page