top of page

Week 4 and 30 Day Update! Practice makes PROGRESS!

Hi guys! Week 4 has been completed! As my one of my last post described, I got some intense personal news the first day of this week (Wednesday) and ended up making it a mental health rest day. It was needed. Even with taking Wednesday off I still worked out four days this week!


Having the mentality that I'm not just going to meet my goals but to BEAT THEM, is really driving me to go above and beyond. I typically try to do more than my best in school, work, hobbies, etc, but it feels really good to want to put this extra effort into myself for once.

This week I went running with a friend. I haven't had a jogging partner in a reaaaaaal long time. With my competitive nature working out with someone else makes me go extra hard to push myself. Which I totally did. I think I need that extra to push to make more progress in my physical goals. I can get very used to my current physical ability level, but working out with someone else gives me a challenge! Hopefully we can go running more in the future!


I also started meditating this week. FINALLY!


My therapist recommended an app called insight timer that has all sorts of mindfulness exercises, including meditation, and its freeeeeee. I did the first two in a series of 7 this week and hopefully I'll keep using them through next week. The guided meditations are only 10 minutes, but I do feel more centered, calm, and relaxed afterwards.


I think adding the meditation is really helping me stay focused about being healthy and enjoying my time instead of stressing about food. I'm starting to live with a more balanced perspective.


That being said this week was a little more "blah" for my mood. School started this week so that's definitely an added stress. I'm trying to get as much homework done during the day between my sessions so I'm not cramming it all into the evenings.

My weigh in was exciting! I lost almost a full pound since last week. This is the most I've lost in a week since I began my journey. I hope this is a sign that my body is adjusting and responding to the life style changes I've been making.

Even more exciting were my 30 day measurements! Look at those legs!!!!! I can't believe I've already lost 2.5 inches on both of my thighs. My thighs are honestly the hardest area for me to lose weight. I quickly lose belly weight, but my legs and booty hold onto it. It's so nice to see these numbers going down while feeling my body getting stronger and leaner. These numbers prove that I'm on the right track!


These numbers are also showing that I need to incorporate more arm and upper body work outs into my routine. Like a lot of women I focus on my abs and legs for the most part, but arms and back are important too! I actually have a decent amount of shoulder and neck pain that could improve with regular exercise to those areas. I'll try to throw some arm work outs into next week!

For more non scale victories, look at this extension!!!!!!! I cannot believe how big of a difference I can already see in less than a month of using the stretching strap. It really is a tremendous help.


For snacks this week I got a craving for ice cream and remembered that FOOD IS NOT MY ENEMY! I can still continue with my healthy lifestyle with sugary snacks on the occasion. Everything really is about moderation. Either way I ended up getting some low calorie and low sugar options because I'm finding out that high sugar options make me nauseous. The Ben and Jerry's is soooooo smooth! I honestly couldn't tell that it was low cal because it tasted so great.


This was the first time I tried the Arctic Zero too and it was also really good! It has these little bites of cookie and brownie dough that were so yummy. Ice cream actually last a long time with me because I only eat a few bites at a time, and I maybe snack on it every few days. Sweetness isn't always my go to. I'm more a savory food girl.


I also found this big bottle of kombucha at Grocery Outlet for $2.99!!!!! That's so insane. Bottles this size are normally $6-8 at the regular grocery store. I decided to get a new flavor and the peach was fantastic! I love kombuncha for the carbonation and the good probiotics for my tummy.


So over the weekend we went to meet the BF's other grandparents. I've met most of his family on his mom's side, but none of his dad's because they live a few hours away. So finally, after 8 months of dating, he took me to meet them. They live out in the country on a beautiful farm. The air feels so fresh and its blessedly quiet out there. I loved it.


The BF's grandparents and extended family all gathered to meet me, which was kinda intimidating because they are a very large and close knit family.....I think they liked me.....


While we were there, we had a bonfire with s'mores and the next day we had a big family BBQ. All the food was absolutely delicious and most of the veggies came straight from the garden! They even sent me home with from fresh peppers and spaghetti squash. I can't wait to cook something up with it.


While sitting around chatting we somehow ended up trying the filters on snapchat. These are the BF and I's pics with the baby filter. Aren't we just ADORABLE!!! LOL




After visiting we came back into town before going out to teach a dance class. One of these day's I'll show you guys how many steps I get on dancing nights. It's insane!


Until next time!

-K

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page