top of page

Starting My Journey

So my last post went a little long and deep. Honestly, I have no idea how the rest of my posts are going to go. I'm just writing from myself, while attempting to keep focus on this goal.


So we've established that I'm ready for a change in my life that is specifically tailored for me. This idea came to me from a combination of reasons, some of which my last post talked about, but also from an inspirational blogger and YouTube sensation, Cassey Ho, CEO and head trainer of Blogilates.


In August of 2019 Cassey decided to embark on a journey to get into the best shape of her life, mentally and physically. Her strength and consistency to follow her goals and stick to her "why" has inspired me to take a journey of my own. To finally discover what my body and mind need to prosper and grow.


So here's my plan:


My 90 day journey will start on Wednesday 7/22/2020, which is when my 90 Journey notebook (designed by Cassey to assist with tracking and accountability) will be here. The journal will help me keep track of my daily food to truly discover what foods fuel and satisfy me. NO MORE FAD DIETS! My food intake will be about what satiates me physically and mentally! I don't plan on tracking calories in the beginning, but I'm leaving myself the flexibility to make changes to my plan down the road. For now I just want to get in-tuned to how my body is feeling and reacting.


Besides food, I will also be tracking and trying to increase mental and physical self-care. The first on my list is stretching 2x a week! I love the feeling of stretching and being flexible. Truth be told, I'm a bit of a show off. Stretching will also decrease my back and hip pain significantly, which will improve my overall well being. There are also sections in the notebook to track these kinds of activities. I'll also be brainstorming other self-care activities...I'm thinking I need a good massage and spa day. Thoughts?


Second goal will be to go jogging 1-2x a week for the first 30 days.Currently I go jogging maybe 2-4x a month so I want to build the consistency. If I can make that goal, then I will increase it for the second 30 days and so forth. I'd really like to be active for 3 out of 7 days in a week minimum. My Saturdays are already taken care of because I teach country swing dancing and spend several hours after on the dance floor. I always leave sweaty and EXHAUSTED! But dancing is honestly one of my biggest passions in life. One way or another my life has always lead me back to the dance floor. So that leaves me with one more day a week to find a physical activity.....Maybe one of Cassey's POP Pilates videos? Hiking trips with the dogs? I'll figure something out!


This next part may be triggering for some people because it's about how I plan to track my physical progress. I will be taking Day 1, Day 30, Day 60, and Day 90 pictures and taking body measurements. I need to be able to see the physical changes happening to keep my progress on track and find out what is actually effective for me. I'm an organized data orientated person....so take it or leave it.


But I do want to say, THIS JOURNEY IS NOT ALL ABOUT LOSING WEIGHT AND BEING SKINNY! It's about being healthy because the fact of the matter is, is that my weight in not healthy. My weight might not be negatively effecting my health now, but in 10, 20, and 30 years from now it definitely can. I want to do my future self a favor and build healthy habits NOW and be preventative rather than trying to undo damage later in life.


I will also be tracking my weight, body fat %, and muscle mass % on a weekly basis to see more changes.


I'm still trying to think of ways to track my mental health status, besides just reflecting on my mood for the day (which there in a section in the 90 day journal for that). I'd love any suggestions that ya'll have!


So that's my plan so far. I'm already super excited to start this journey because I feel like, for the first time, this is actually purely for me and my overall well being. Wish me luck!


-K

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page