top of page

Tools to Keep Me on Track

I am finally set up and ready to get started! Eeeeeeeek I'm so excited.


So for the past few days I've been gathering materials to help me plan my goals and track my progress. The main tool will be my 90 Day Journal designed by Cassey Ho after she completed her 90 Day Journey. Look how cute this is!!!















The journal gives detailed tips to construct your "why" so that it actually means more to you than surface level.


"My "why" is purely about me. About me being fed up with sacrificing either my mental or physical health for "self-care." It's about me craving balance in my life and to be my whole self, not just pieces driven by depression, anxiety, the opinions of others, or fads that don't work and don't make me feel good. My "why" is for me to Just Be Me."


My "why" has definitely been circulating in my head for awhile, I just didn't have the motivation to do anything about it, or any ideas about where to start. Now I have a direction and I have goals.




Thanks to my journal I've been able to organize my goals as follows:


Physical Goals:

Weight: 155 lbs

Body Fat %: 30%


Mental Wellness Goals:

  1. Minimum of one bucket list/new experience a month. Something FUN!

  2. Meditate 2-4x a week for 15 minutes

  3. Blog everyday about realness!

Fitness & Strength Goals:

  1. Run 1 mile in 15 minutes or less

  2. Full leg extension stretch on both legs...which looks like this.....

My Bonus Goals:

  1. Intentional and planned date nights.

I have room for 1 more fitness goal and two more bonus goals. I'm going to leave them open for now in case I feel the need to add an extra "something" to this journey


CAUTION! TRIGGER WARNING AHEAD!


If you are easily triggered by scales, measurements or, pictures scroll past this next section. I am a visual and data orientated person. I need to see my progress to understand the process about how I got there.



Currently my weight in at 166 lbs. This is definitely not me heaviest, but its the heaviest I've been in over a year. According to the National Institute of Health I am considered obese for my gender and height, 5'2".





THIS IS NOT OKAY!


I am all for loving my curves, but I'm not about to be okay with letting myself live in a world of ignorance thinking that it is okay to be obese when I have the power to make better choices for myself. If I meet my goal of 155 lbs that will still leave me in the overweight category and hopefully with healthier habits to continue the weight loss to closer to normal range.


My body fat percentage is 35.8, which is also considered obese by the American Counsel on Exercise (ACE)


Meeting my goal of 30% will leave me just barely in the acceptable category and in a better place physically.


I also took measurements of my body to compare at 30 days, 60 days, and 90 days.



Day 1:

Chest 37.5 inches

Left Arm 11 inches

Right Arm 11.5 inches

Waist 31 inches

Hips 34.5 inches

Left Leg 29 inches

Right Leg 29 inches


So how am I going to get to my goals?


First we have some healthy diet guidelines.




I'll be sticking to low carb and avoiding carb heavy foods like bread, pasta, and (sad face) potatoes. I do looooooooove carby foods, but they don't always love me. Mostly they leave me feeling bloated and with indigestion.


What carbs I do intake will come from a mix of fruits and veggies. I want my plates to be color and full of healthy vitamins.


I'll be drinking two of these 40 oz water bottles a day, at a minimum. I love these Thermoflask from Costco. They are waaaaay cheaper than a hydoflask and they keep my drinks cold all day long! I also recently got a straw lid to go with it and I'm already drinking my water faster!




Lastly, I'll incorporating various meats to keep my protein levels up! This shouldn't be a problem for me about I am a total CARNIVORE!


I'm going to start off by running at least once a week for the next 14 days and adding an additional work during the week. Combined with dancing every Saturday will put me at 3 active days in the week! After 14 I'll re-evaluate and see if I need to increase my goal!


And here are my Day 1 pictures! I think we are ready to start! I'll post my Day 1 food and activities tomorrow so I'm not up all night trying to write about today.



Be back tomorrow!


-K







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page